Kaywa

QRCode

http://www.maxieb.com/caramel-cakes

Last, Friday was my first trip to Maxie B’s bakery in Greensboro, North Carolina.  I was amazed as I walked into shop.  The décor was fabulous and I was mesmerized by all of the sweet treats on display in front of me. My QR code links to Maxie B’s.

Before this class, I had heard of QR codes but had never made one or scanned one on my own. As a teacher, I have seen QR codes utilized in classroom lessons facilitated by my peers, but never realized how easy they were to create.  A 3rd grade teacher used QR codes to link to Lowe’s and Home Depot for a unit on area and perimeter, in which students were redesigning the flooring of a room in their home. The best use of QR codes was during the school-wide Art Showcase. Every student had a piece of artwork on display and the art teacher grouped each piece within grade levels by type. She went on to display a QR code next to each type which linked to an artist who created that type of artwork or to more examples of the type of art the students were asked to capture. School I-pads were set up on a table for families to use during the showcase, but it was cool to see the students and parents utilizing their phones to participate in the event!

Leave a Reply

